Tuesday 11 December 2012

Jason Craig named MSA Young Journalist of the Year

The Motor Sports Association (MSA) is pleased to announce that the Coleraine Chronicle’s Jason Craig has been named the Renault MSA Young Motor Sport Journalist of the Year 2012.

Established in 2002 in association with Renault UK, the award is designed to recognise the most promising journalists aged 25 or under working within British motor sport.

Craig, aged 25 from Co. Antrim, joined the Coleraine Chronicle in 2010 after graduating from Coventry University. The judges were impressed by his accomplished news writing, the breadth, depth and originality of his stories, and the sheer amount of copy bearing his byline. In a supporting letter, Coleraine Chronicle sports editor Damian Mullan credited Jason with a major increase in the paper’s coverage of rallying over the last two years, while former British Historic Rally Champion Dessie Nutt praised him for significantly raising awareness of motor sport in the region.

Craig said: “I’m extremely honoured to have been named the 2012 Renault MSA Young Journalist of the Year. To win this prestigious award is a dream come true and I would like to take this opportunity to thank my immediate family who have continued to support me over the years. I would also like to express my gratitude to the many competitors who have been so receptive to my relentless interest in their sport, and to my current employer, the Coleraine Chronicle. I look forward to collecting my award in London at the Night of Champions; it promises to be a very memorable occasion.”

Jeremy Townsend, Communications Director of Renault UK, said: “The standard of entries was as high as ever with a very impressive breadth of work. Of all though, Craig’s work stood out with unanimous agreement from the judges. I wish Craig every success with his future career.”

Craig will collect a trophy and a cheque for £1000 at the MSA’s Night of Champions at the Royal Automobile Club, London, on 19 January 2013.

Previous winners:
2011: Dan McCalla, Motorsport News
2010: Rob Ladbrook, Motorsport News
2009: Ben Anderson, Autosport
2008: Ed Foster, Motor Sport
2007: Steven English, Autosport
2006: Kevin Turner, Autosport
2005: Glenn Freeman, Motorsport News
2004: Gemma Briggs, Racecar/Haymarket
2003: Tim Redmayne, Motorsport News
2002: Will Gray, Collings Sport

No comments:

Post a Comment